Best Banks for Small Business in 2026

Compare Chase, Bank of America, Mercury, Bluevine, Novo, Airwallex, and Rho for small business banking in 2026, from branch access to built-in spend controls.

If you're comparing banks for a small business, the honest answer is that no single one wins every category.

Chase wins on physical branch access. Bluevine and Mercury win on FDIC coverage that stretches past the standard $250,000 limit.

Bank of America wins if you already bank personally with them and want the relationship-pricing discount. Rho wins if you want banking, corporate cards, and spend controls running on one login instead of three.

A business bank account is the operating account your company pays vendors from and gets paid into. It's a separate legal and financial layer from your personal checking, which matters for taxes, liability, and how seriously a lender or investor takes your books.

The right pick depends on variables specific to you: how much cash you hold at once, how many entities you run, whether you need a corporate card program built in, and whether you ever need to walk into a branch with a stack of bills.

A lot of small businesses end up running two accounts in parallel rather than picking one winner, and that's a reasonable outcome, not a failure to decide.

This guide compares Airwallex, Bank of America, Bluevine, Mercury, Novo, Chase, and Rho on the numbers that actually change month to month: fees, FDIC coverage, cashback, and who each one is actually built for.

  • No account here charges you to hold money. Every provider in this comparison offers a $0-fee tier; the fee-bearing tiers exist for feature upgrades (higher FDIC ceilings, dedicated support, physical cash handling), not for basic access.

  • FDIC coverage varies more than people expect. A single-bank account tops out at the standard $250,000 per depositor. Fintechs that distribute deposits across partner-bank networks can push that much higher: Mercury up to $5,000,000, Bluevine up to $3,000,000, Rho up to $75,000,000 through its Business Savings Account's partner-bank network (as of August 2026, not contractually guaranteed).

  • Cashback and yield are where the fintechs separate from the traditional banks. Chase and Bank of America don't publish a debit or checking cashback program on their basic business accounts. Bluevine, Novo, Mercury, and Rho do, and the terms differ enough to matter if you run real spend through the card.

  • If you're specifically looking for a Bank of America alternative, the fintech names in this piece (Bluevine, Mercury, Novo, Rho) trade BofA's branch network for lower minimum-balance requirements and, in most cases, no monthly fee at any balance.

Compare the accounts at a glance

Provider

Monthly fee

FDIC coverage

Cashback

Personal guarantee on card

Best for

Rho

$0 (checking)

Up to $250,000 per entity (checking); up to $75,000,000 per entity via the Rho Business Savings Account's partner-bank network

Credit card, standard tier: up to 1.25% (Daily) / up to 1% (Monthly), no minimum (terms apply); Platinum tier: up to 2% (Daily) / up to 1.75% (Monthly) (terms apply)

Not required

Companies that want banking, cards, and spend controls in one platform

Airwallex

$0 (Explore); $12/user/mo + platform fee (Grow); custom (Accelerate)

Not stated for standard balances

Not published

Not stated

Businesses paying and getting paid in multiple currencies

Bank of America

$0 or $16/mo (Fundamentals); $0 or $29.95/mo (Relationship), both fees waivable by balance

Standard $250,000 per depositor

Not published on basic checking

Not stated

Businesses that want a branch and ATM network

Bluevine

$0 (Standard); $30/mo (Plus); $95/mo (Premier), waivable by balance/spend

Up to $3,000,000 through partner bank network

4% (debit card) on qualifying purchases

Not stated

Businesses that want a high-yield checking balance without a separate savings account

Mercury

$0

Up to $5,000,000 through partner bank sweep network

1.5% (credit card), Mercury IO

Not required

Venture-backed startups already used to a fintech stack

Novo

$0

Standard $250,000 through a single partner bank

1% to 2% (debit card), gated by a $5,000 account balance

Not stated

Solo founders and very early-stage LLCs

Chase

$0 to $95/mo depending on tier, waivable by balance

Standard $250,000 per depositor

Not published on basic checking

Not stated

Businesses that handle cash and need physical branches

Standard FDIC insurance covers $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank; this is a federal deposit insurance rule, not a competitor-specific figure. The cashback column mixes debit-card and credit-card programs, which aren't directly comparable products; see each provider's entry below for the full breakdown. Rates and fees above were checked against each provider's own published pricing page on 2026-09-24 and may change. Competitive data collected from Airwallex, Bank of America, Bluevine, Mercury, Novo, and Chase websites as of September 24, 2026, and may change.

Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. Member FDIC, savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.

Rho Logo

Never outgrow your banking platform.

Built to handle your business at every stage, from inception to IPO. No switching costs, no starting over – just banking that expands with you.

Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., member FDIC; savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.

Fintech vs. traditional bank: what actually changes

Here's the practical difference. A traditional bank like Chase or Bank of America gives you a branch to walk into, a banker you can call, and cash deposit machines at thousands of locations. That matters if your business handles physical cash or checks regularly.

A fintech like Rho, Mercury, Bluevine, or Novo gives you faster account opening (often same-day), software-native tools like spend controls and accounting sync, and in several cases a higher FDIC ceiling through a partner-bank network instead of a single institution.

The tradeoff is that most fintechs don't take cash deposits over the counter and rely entirely on a partner bank behind the scenes rather than their own branch.

Neither model is objectively better. A retail business collecting cash every day has different needs than a SaaS company invoicing on 30-day terms. If you're weighing this tradeoff in more depth, our guide to the best online business bank accounts breaks down the fintech side specifically.

Best Bank of America alternatives for small business banking

If you're moving away from Bank of America, the friction points are usually the same: the monthly fee kicks back in below the balance minimum, and the branch network you're paying for goes unused if your team works remotely.

The closest fits depend on why you're leaving:

  • If you want to keep a branch network but drop the balance-gated fee anxiety, Chase's Business Complete Banking tier waives its $15 fee at a $2,000 minimum daily balance, a lower bar than Bank of America's $5,000 threshold on Fundamentals.

  • If you want to leave branch banking behind entirely and raise your FDIC coverage, Bluevine (up to $3,000,000) or Mercury (up to $5,000,000) both clear Bank of America's standard $250,000 ceiling without a monthly fee.

  • If banking, cards, and spend management currently live in three different logins, Rho consolidates that stack, with no monthly fee and Business Savings Account coverage up to $75,000,000 per entity (as of August 2026, not contractually guaranteed).

  • If your business runs payments in multiple currencies, Airwallex is built specifically for that, at the cost of a less clear domestic FDIC story than a US-focused competitor.

None of these is a drop-in replacement for a Bank of America branch relationship. They're a tradeoff, and which side of it you want depends on whether you actually use the branch or just pay for the option to.

The 7 accounts, reviewed

1. Rho: banking, cards, and spend controls on one platform

Best for: companies that want checking, corporate cards, and spend controls without stitching together separate vendors.

Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. Member FDIC, savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.

Pricing and terms (verified 2026-09-24):

  • $0 monthly fees, $0 per-user fees.

  • $0 domestic ACH, wire, and check fees. A $15 SWIFT fee applies to international wires; a 1% fee applies to foreign currency conversion.

  • Checking balances are covered up to $250,000 per entity, standard FDIC treatment.

  • The Rho Business Savings Account's partner-bank network spreads balances across 400+ FDIC- and NCUA-insured institutions (as of August 2026), covering up to $75,000,000 per entity. This is a network structure, not a single-bank guarantee, and the coverage figure is not contractually promised. FDIC insurance protects against the failure of an insured bank holding deposits; it does not protect against the failure of Rho or any other third party.

  • Savings earns a variable 1.00% APY on balances that maintain a $25,000 average monthly minimum, with withdrawals capped at 6 per month.

  • The Rho corporate card earns up to 1.25% cashback (Daily settlement) or up to 1% (Monthly settlement) on the standard tier (terms apply), with no balance or spend minimum to qualify. The Platinum tier earns up to 2% (Daily) or up to 1.75% (Monthly) (terms apply), on up to $1,000,000 in eligible spend per calendar year. No personal guarantee, no consumer credit report pull, and no annual, subscription, or per-card fee.

  • Rho is built for US-incorporated entities. Sole proprietorships are not eligible.

Where Rho wins:

  • One login for banking, cards, and spend controls instead of separate vendors for each.

  • No fee tiers to track. Standard checking, ACH, wires, and checks are free regardless of balance.

  • A Business Savings Account coverage ceiling that clears every other account in this comparison, if the $25,000 average balance minimum is workable for your cash position.

Rho isn't the right fit for everything:

  • Sole proprietorships and unincorporated businesses can't open an account.

  • There's no physical branch network, so businesses that regularly deposit cash should look elsewhere.

  • The 1.00% variable savings APY requires a $25,000 average monthly balance to earn interest at all; below that, the balance sits at 0%.

Rho Logo

Never outgrow your banking platform.

Built to handle your business at every stage, from inception to IPO. No switching costs, no starting over – just banking that expands with you.

Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., member FDIC; savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.

Have your EIN and US incorporation documents ready; account opening is often same-day.

2. Airwallex: best for multi-currency businesses

Best for: businesses that pay suppliers or get paid by customers in more than one currency.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): The Explore plan is $0 per user per month. The Grow plan is $12 per user per month plus an additional platform fee based on team size, which Airwallex does not publish as a flat number. The Accelerate plan is custom-priced.

Where Airwallex wins:

  • FX conversion at 0.5% above interbank rate for major currencies, 1% for the rest, which is a meaningfully tighter spread than a typical retail bank wire.

  • Built specifically for businesses moving money across borders, not adapted from a domestic-first product.

Airwallex isn't the right fit for everything:

  • No FDIC coverage figure is published for standard account balances; Airwallex states FDIC coverage only for its card program (through partner Evolve Bank & Trust) and explicitly excludes its separate Yield product from FDIC insurance.

  • The Grow plan's true monthly cost isn't transparent until you know your team size, which makes it hard to comparison-shop against a flat-fee competitor.

3. Bank of America: best if you want a physical branch network

Best for: businesses that want in-person banking and already have a personal Bank of America relationship.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): Business Advantage Fundamentals Banking is $0 or $16/month, waived by a $5,000 combined average monthly balance, $500+ in new net qualified debit card purchases per month, or Preferred Rewards for Business membership. Business Advantage Relationship Banking is $0 or $29.95/month, waived by a $15,000 combined average monthly balance or Preferred Rewards for Business membership; this tier also includes a free linked second account and free incoming wires.

Where Bank of America wins:

  • A large branch and ATM footprint, useful for cash-heavy businesses or anyone who wants an in-person banker.

  • Multiple ways to waive the monthly fee beyond balance alone, including linked personal Preferred Rewards status.

Bank of America isn't the right fit for everything:

  • The fee only fully disappears above a $5,000 to $15,000 balance threshold depending on tier; smaller businesses will likely pay it.

  • No published cashback or rewards program on the basic business checking accounts themselves.

4. Bluevine: best for a high-yield checking balance

Best for: businesses that want their operating balance to earn a competitive rate without opening a separate savings account.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): Standard is $0/month and earns 1.3% APY up to $250,000 (requires $500+ in monthly debit card spend or $2,500+ in monthly customer payments received). Plus is $30/month, waived at a $20,000 combined balance plus $2,000 card spend, and earns 1.75% APY up to $250,000. Premier is $95/month, waived at a $100,000 balance plus $5,000 card spend, and earns 3.0% APY on all balances.

Where Bluevine wins:

  • APY on checking itself, up to 3.0% on the Premier tier, is higher than most competitors in this set offer on a separate savings product.

  • FDIC coverage up to $3,000,000 through its partner bank network, well above the standard $250,000.

  • 4% cashback on qualifying debit card purchases, the highest debit cashback rate in this comparison.

Bluevine isn't the right fit for everything:

  • The Standard tier's 1.3% APY requires hitting a monthly spend or deposit threshold, not just holding a balance.

  • Higher APY tiers require either a meaningfully larger balance or ongoing card spend to unlock.

5. Mercury: best for venture-backed startups already in a fintech stack

Best for: startups that want a banking product built around the same workflows as their other software tools.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): $0/month for standard business banking.

Where Mercury wins:

  • FDIC coverage up to $5,000,000 spread across as many as 20 partner banks, the highest single-bank-account ceiling in this comparison.

  • The Mercury IO credit card earns 1.5% cashback with no annual fee and no personal guarantee.

Mercury isn't the right fit for everything:

  • No branch network and no cash deposit option.

  • Mercury's separately marketed Treasury by Mercury Advisory product, which advertises yields up to 3.91%, is an investment product, not FDIC insured and not the same as a checking or savings rate; it shouldn't be confused with deposit APY when comparing accounts.

6. Novo: best for solo founders and very early-stage LLCs

Best for: a first business account for a newly formed LLC with a light banking footprint.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): No-fee business checking, no minimum balance.

Where Novo wins:

  • Genuinely no fee at any balance, with no waiver conditions to track.

  • Simple setup that suits a first-time business owner who doesn't need advanced treasury features yet.

Novo isn't the right fit for everything:

  • FDIC coverage is capped at the standard $250,000 through a single partner bank (Middlesex Federal Savings), with no sweep network to extend it.

  • Cashback is gated behind a $5,000 account balance: 2% above that threshold, 1% below it.

7. Chase: best for businesses that need the biggest physical footprint

Best for: businesses that handle cash regularly or want the largest branch and ATM network available.

Pricing (verified 2026-09-24): Business Complete Banking is $15/month or $0, waived by a $2,000 minimum daily balance, Chase QuickAccept deposits, or Chase for Business credit card purchases. Performance Business Checking is $40/month or $0, waived by a $35,000 combined average beginning-day balance. Platinum Business Checking is $95/month or $0, waived by a $100,000 average beginning-day balance (or $50,000 if linked to Chase Private Client).

Where Chase wins:

  • The largest network in this comparison: 14,000+ ATMs and 5,000+ branches, relevant for cash-handling businesses.

  • Three tiers means a business can start on the cheapest one and move up as balances grow, without switching banks.

Chase isn't the right fit for everything:

  • All three tiers charge a fee below their respective balance thresholds; the entry tier's $2,000 minimum is the most accessible, but the higher tiers require five- and six-figure balances to waive.

  • No published cashback or interest rate on the basic business checking tiers themselves.

A few more names you'll see mentioned

Wells Fargo, U.S. Bank, Capital One, and Relay show up regularly in this category too. Wells Fargo, U.S. Bank, and Capital One are large-branch alternatives to Chase and Bank of America; Relay is another fintech option alongside Mercury and Bluevine.

We didn't verify live pricing for these four today, so we're naming them here rather than publishing figures we can't stand behind.

If you're comparing a wider set of state-specific or regional options, our guides to the best banks for small business in California and the best banks for small business in Texas cover local and regional players in more depth.

Fees to watch beyond the monthly fee

The advertised monthly fee is rarely the number that decides your total cost. Watch for:

  • Balance-waiver thresholds. Several accounts in this comparison waive their fee only above a specific balance, meaning a business that dips below it mid-month can get charged retroactively depending on the provider's terms.

  • Wire and international transfer fees. Domestic ACH is free almost everywhere in this set; international wires and currency conversion are where fees diverge, from Rho's flat $15 SWIFT fee and 1% conversion fee to Airwallex's tighter FX spread built for cross-border volume.

  • Cashback settlement terms. A card's advertised cashback rate often depends on whether you settle daily or monthly, and whether it's gated behind a minimum balance (as with Novo) or minimum spend (as with Bluevine's higher APY tiers).

How we verified this page

Every fee, rate, and feature above was checked directly against each provider's own published pricing or account page on September 24, 2026.

Where a provider's own pages disclosed conflicting numbers (Airwallex's Grow plan pricing) or didn't disclose a figure at all (Airwallex's standard-account FDIC coverage, Bank of America's business savings APY), we noted that gap explicitly rather than estimate a number. We did not use third-party review aggregator ratings anywhere in this piece.

Rho Logo

Never outgrow your banking platform.

Built to handle your business at every stage, from inception to IPO. No switching costs, no starting over – just banking that expands with you.

Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., member FDIC; savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.

FAQs

Most banks and fintechs in this comparison accept LLCs, including single-member LLCs. Rho and Mercury are both built around incorporated entities specifically and don't serve sole proprietorships, so an LLC (or corporation) is required either way. Novo is a common first pick for a newly formed, lower-volume LLC given its no-fee structure.

This refers to a federal reporting requirement, not a bank-specific policy: businesses generally must report cash transactions over $10,000 to the IRS using Form 8300. Banks also file Currency Transaction Reports for cash transactions over $10,000. Neither rule blocks the transaction; it triggers a reporting obligation.

Yes. An Employer Identification Number is the standard identifier banks and fintechs use to open a business account, in place of a sole proprietor's Social Security number. Most providers in this comparison, including Rho, require an EIN and proof of US incorporation as part of account opening.

It depends on whether your business handles cash. If it never takes cash deposits, a fintech account removes the main reason to pay for branch access: Rho, Mercury, Bluevine, and Novo all operate without a branch network and are built around online-first businesses. If you do handle cash regularly, Chase or Bank of America's branch networks are the more practical fit.

For a brand-new business with light banking needs, Novo's no-fee, no-minimum-balance structure is a common starting point. For a business that expects to raise venture funding or scale spend quickly, Mercury or Rho are more commonly used from day one because they pair banking with tools like corporate cards and spend controls.

There isn't one universal answer; it splits by use case rather than a single winner. Chase and Bank of America win on branch access. Bluevine wins on checking-account yield and FDIC coverage above the standard $250,000 without a monthly fee. Mercury wins on the highest FDIC ceiling. Rho wins for consolidating banking, cards, and spend management on one platform. The right choice depends on your cash volume, entity structure, and whether you need cash deposit access at a physical location.

Fintech accounts, including Rho, Mercury, Bluevine, and Novo, generally offer same-day or next-day online account opening once your entity documents and EIN are ready. Traditional banks like Chase and Bank of America can open an account quickly too but often require an in-branch visit or additional verification steps for business accounts.

Most accounts in this comparison, including Mercury, Novo, and Bluevine's Standard tier, have no minimum opening deposit or minimum balance requirement. Higher fee-waiver tiers at Chase and Bank of America require five- and six-figure balances, but those are fee thresholds, not opening requirements.

Large businesses typically maintain relationships with multiple institutions, often including a major national bank (Chase, Bank of America, or Wells Fargo) for treasury and lending services alongside more specialized providers for specific needs like corporate cards, international payments, or spend management. This comparison focuses on small business accounts, so lending and treasury-services comparisons for larger companies are outside its scope.