The best business bank account is a business checking account with no monthly fee, FDIC-insured deposits, and the payments, cards, and software a company needs to run its money. For most startups and growing companies in 2026 that is Rho, a fintech platform whose checking and card services are provided by partner bank Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. Chase is the pick if you deposit cash, Bluevine if you want interest on checking, and Relay if you run several entities.
A business checking account is the operating account a company pays and gets paid from. This guide compares 11 of them on monthly fees, yield, FDIC coverage, time to open, lending, and whether they fit an LLC. Every figure is dated and re-verified, so you can compare the accounts as they are today, not as they were last year.
The best business bank account depends on what your business does with its money: how much cash you hold (yield and FDIC coverage matter most), whether you take cash revenue (branch and deposit access matter most), how many entities and users you run (fees and controls matter most), and how much of your finance stack (cards, bill pay, accounting) you want in the same place as your checking account.
No single account wins every column: several businesses should run two of these side by side (a fintech platform for operating cash and yield, plus a branch bank if you handle physical cash). The comparison table and the per-bank breakdowns below show exactly where each one wins and where it doesn't.
Key takeaways:
Best all-in-one platform from incorporation through IPO: Rho: $0 monthly and per-user fees, treasury yield up to 4.72% (as of 09/17/2026), savings with up to $75M in FDIC coverage, and checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., part of Santander's $327B-asset U.S. banking organization (per Santander, 8/20/2026), many times the size of any other partner bank on this list.
Best if you deposit cash or need branches: Chase: the largest branch network in the country and free ATM cash deposits are something no fintech matches.
Best interest checking plus a credit line: Bluevine: up to 3.0% APY on checking (Premier tier) and a built-in line of credit up to $250K.
Best self-serve multi-entity banking: Relay: up to 20 checking accounts and multiple businesses under one login on a free plan.
Best for solo founders and freelancers: Found or Lili: free tiers with built-in tax tools (Lili adds free-plan APY).
Best for global, multi-currency operations: Airwallex: hold and pay in dozens of currencies.
Also compared: Mercury (polished VC-backed banking), Brex (points-based spend management, now part of Capital One), Bank of America (relationship banking at scale), Novo (simple free checking for micro-businesses).
The best business bank accounts of 2026, compared
Here's the full lineup side by side. The deeper story on each one, including where every provider quietly falls short, follows below.
Provider | APY on cash | FDIC insurance | Monthly fee | Time to open | Per-user fee | Cash deposits | Business credit & lending | Partner bank (total assets, as of) | Personal guarantee on cards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Rho | Up to 4.72% (Rho Treasury, as of 09/17/2026; tiered: 4.27% from the $50K minimum, 4.72% at $20M+; $50K minimum is one-fifth of Mercury's $250K) | Checking: $250K (Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A.). Savings: up to $75M via sweep across 400+ institutions | $0 | Application under 10 minutes online; approval time not published | $0 | No | Rho Corporate Cards + Rho Capital: revolving working-capital credit lines up to $5M (larger facilities case-by-case, as of 08/02/2026), terms up to 180 days, no origination or prepayment fees | Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A.: $327B Santander organization (per Santander, 8/20/2026) (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | No (currently) |
Mercury | 0% on checking and savings; Mercury Treasury up to 3.81% net (as of 07/27/2026), $250K minimum, SIPC not FDIC | Up to $5M via sweep across up to ~20 program banks | $0 (software: from $29.90/mo Plus, $299/mo Pro; annual billing is lower) | Application 10 minutes or less; decision usually within 0 to 2 business days | $0 (paid plan required beyond 5 active reimbursement users/mo) | No | IO charge card; venture debt + working capital loans (not in CA) | Choice Financial Group: $6.13B; Column, N.A.: $1.39B (FDIC call reports, 3/31/2026) | No |
Bluevine | 1.3% APY up to $250K with activity conditions (Standard); 1.75% (Plus); 3.0% on all balances (Premier); verified 08/02/2026 | Up to $3M via Coastal Community Bank + program banks | $0 (Standard) / $30 (Plus) / $95 (Premier), waivable | Application in a few minutes; extended reviews usually resolved in 1 to 3 business days | $0 | Yes: Green Dot retail ($4.95/deposit); Allpoint+ ATMs ($1 + 0.5%) | Line of credit up to $250K (issued by Celtic Bank); cashback card invitation-only | Coastal Community Bank: $5.66B (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | Not disclosed (card is invitation-only) |
Relay | Savings only: 1.11% (Starter) / 1.75% (Grow) / 3.00% (Scale), as of 5/1/2026 | Up to $3M via Thread Bank deposit-sweep program | $0 (Starter) / $30 (Grow) / $90 (Scale) | About 10 minutes online; most applications reviewed within 1 to 2 business days | $0, unlimited users | Yes: free at Allpoint+ ATMs; Green Dot retail, fee up to $4.95 | 30-day charge card, limits tied to Relay balances; no credit line | Thread Bank: ~$1.04B (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | No credit check; charge card, limit tied to Relay balances |
Novo | None: checking is non-interest-bearing; no savings product | $250K, single partner bank, no sweep | $0 | Opens in minutes; most applications reviewed in 24 hours, some up to 72 hours | $0 | No: money-order workaround only | Novo credit card (issued by Continental Bank) | Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A.: ~$642M (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | Not disclosed |
Chase (Business Complete) | 0%: flagship business checking does not earn interest (2026 fee schedule) | $250K standard (direct bank) | $15 (waivable: $2K daily balance, QuickAccept deposits, or linked Chase card) | Not published (three-step online application) | $0 | Yes: free at ATMs; $5,000/statement free at teller, then 0.30% | Ink card lineup; lines, term loans, CRE; venture debt upmarket | Is the bank: JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., $4.02T bank-level (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | Yes: all Chase Ink cards |
Bank of America (Fundamentals) | 0%: checking is non-interest-bearing; Business Advantage Savings 0.01% APY standard (varies by location) | $250K standard (direct bank) | $16 (waivable: $5K combined balance, $500/mo debit spend, or Preferred Rewards) | Same day in many cases when applying online | $0 | Yes: $5,000/statement free, then $0.30 per $100 ($20K free on Relationship tier) | Full lending suite: self-described #1 US small-business lender (FDIC data) | Is the bank: Bank of America, N.A., $2.67T bank-level (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | Yes: per application terms (personal credit reviewed) |
Brex | 4.01% to 4.36% (BNY Dreyfus money market fund, displayed 07/31/2026, SIPC, not FDIC) | Checking via Column N.A. ($250K); Vault sweep up to $6M FDIC (~24 program banks); Treasury MMF is SIPC ≤$500K | $0 (Essentials) / $12 per user per month (Premium) | Opens in minutes; application reviewed within 1 to 3 business days | $12 (Premium) | No (no cash deposits, no ATM access) | Charge card: limits track cash balance, changeable "at any time"; no credit line | Column, N.A.: $1.39B (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | No |
Airwallex | Airwallex Yield: up to 3.48% (as of 08/01/2026), JPMorgan government money market fund, SIPC not FDIC | $250K pass-through: segregated accounts at partner banks, no sweep | $0 (Explore) / Grow: $12 per active Spend user/mo + platform fee | About 15 minutes to apply; typically 1 to 3 business days | $12 per active Spend user (Grow) | No | None: debit-style cards only, no credit products for US SMBs | Evolve Bank & Trust: $1.21B; Community Federal Savings Bank (cards): $0.85B (FDIC call reports, 3/31/2026) | No: debit-style cards, no credit line |
Found | 0% on free plan; 1.50% up to $20K (Plus, $35/mo); 2.50% uncapped (Pro, $80/mo) | $250K standard, single bank, no sweep | $0 (Plus $35/mo; Pro $80/mo) | Not verified as of September 2026 | $0: subscription, not per-seat | Yes: retail barcode network; $2.00 Found fee per deposit | None: debit only | Lead Bank: $2.68B (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | n/a: debit only |
Lili | Up to 4.00% APY tiered: 2.25% on the first $500K (effective 1/13/2026), on all plans incl. free | Up to $3M via Sunrise Banks + sweep program banks | $0 (Core) / $15 (Pro) / $35 (Smart) / $55 (Premium) | Application under three minutes; most applications decided within minutes | $0: plans include teams up to 10 | Yes: Green Dot retail, fee up to $4.95 | Debit only; BusinessBuild credit-builder add-on ($18 to $30/mo) | Sunrise Banks, N.A.: $2.73B (FDIC call report, 3/31/2026) | n/a: debit only |
Last verified: September 2026. Monthly fees and time-to-open figures were re-checked on each provider's own website on September 16, 2026. APY, FDIC, and lending figures carry the date shown in each cell.
APY figures are variable and change frequently; each is dated above. FDIC coverage through sweep networks depends on program structure; see "Who actually holds your money" below. Sources for every figure are listed at the end of this page.
Business banking platforms that integrate with QuickBooks, Xero, and NetSuite
Rho, a fintech platform partnered with Webster Bank, natively syncs corporate card, banking, and bill-pay transactions into QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, and Sage Intacct, plus a bank feed for Xero. Mercury, Novo, and Lili push similar native data into QuickBooks Online and Xero; NetSuite support is rarer and mostly limited to native-only providers like Rho, Mercury, and Brex.
Platform | QuickBooks Online | Xero | NetSuite | Other | Sync type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Rho | Yes | Yes | Yes | Sage Intacct, Campfire | Native integration (QBO, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Campfire); bank feed (Xero) |
Mercury | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not published | Native push (NetSuite automations on paid plan) |
Bluevine | Yes | Yes | Not published | Wave | Native sync (QBO); lighter import (Xero) |
Relay | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Bank-feed sync; native Bill Pay integration (QBO) |
Novo | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Native push, no CSV |
Chase | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Bank of America | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | Web Connect / Direct Connect (file-based) |
Brex | Yes | Yes | Yes | Sage Intacct, Workday, +6 more | Native for NetSuite (no bank feed); enriched vs. feed for QBO/Xero |
Airwallex | Yes | Yes | Yes | Sage, Odoo, +3 more | Bank feed by default; paid add-on for deeper sync |
Found | No | Not published | Not published | Not published | CSV import/export only |
Lili | Yes | Yes | Not published | FreshBooks | Native push; legacy bank feed option |
Last verified: September 2026.
Figures above were confirmed on each provider's own integrations or help pages on September 16, 2026; cells marked “not published” mean the provider hasn't stated support publicly, not that support doesn't exist. See Rho's accounting integrations for the full list, including Sage Intacct and Campfire.
Before picking a platform, confirm the sync direction: a native integration pushes categorized transactions, receipts, and vendor detail into your ledger, while a bank feed only pulls raw transaction lines for you or your accountant to code. Check whether bill pay and card spend flow through the same connection, whether it's gated to a paid plan, and how it holds up at month-end across multiple entities. Our guide to the best online business bank accounts breaks down more fintech-specific options if accounting sync is your top priority.
How to choose: the five questions that actually decide it
Buyers who switch business bank accounts tell us the decision comes down to a handful of concrete questions, not brand preference. Ask these five:
1. What does your idle cash earn? Business checking at the big branch banks earns 0%. Chase's own 2026 fee schedule states its flagship business checking "does not earn interest," Bank of America's business checking is non-interest-bearing, and their standard business savings rates round to 0.01%.
Fintech platforms pay meaningfully more, but read the conditions: Mercury pays nothing on business checking or savings and gates its treasury product behind a $250,000 minimum (up to 3.81% net, as of 07/27/2026);
Bluevine's best rates require paid plans or activity; and several treasury products (Mercury's, Brex's, Airwallex's, and Rho's) are money market or T-bill investments carrying SIPC protection, not FDIC insurance.
Rho Treasury reaches the highest rate on this list (up to 4.72% as of 09/17/2026, tiered from $50K).
2. Who actually holds your deposits, and how much is insured? Most fintech platforms aren't banks; a partner bank holds your money. That's not a problem in itself, but you should know the institution's name and size, and how much FDIC coverage the structure gives you. Coverage on this list ranges from the standard $250,000 to $75 million. (Full breakdown in the next section.)
3. Do you take cash? If your business deposits physical cash regularly, a branch bank belongs in your stack. Chase and Bank of America win this column outright, and several fintechs on this list accept cash only through retail networks with per-deposit fees, or not at all.
4. What do the cards commit you to? Two things to check: whether the card requires a personal guarantee (every Chase Ink card does: Chase's cardmember agreement makes you "personally responsible, both individually and jointly with the Company"; Rho's corporate cards don't),
And how rewards actually pay out (Brex points redeem for cash at 0.6 cents per point, a 40% haircut versus their travel value).
5. What happens when you scale? Per-user fees and software tiers are how "free" accounts get expensive: Brex Premium runs $12 per user per month; several platforms gate their best features behind paid plans. Check what multi-entity support, accounting software integrations (NetSuite, Sage Intacct), and human support cost at 50 employees, not just at 5.
Starting from scratch? Factor in incorporation. Most providers on this list can bank a company that exists; only Rho can also create one: free Delaware C-corp incorporation* with attorney-reviewed documents filed on your behalf, and banking that opens pre-EIN the same day.
*$400 fee, credited back once you deposit $10,000 of new money into your Rho checking account and keep your daily average balance $10,000 above where it started for the 60 days after you incorporate.
There's a sixth question worth its own section, because it trips up more buyers than any of the five above.
Best business bank account for an LLC
The best business bank account for an LLC is one that opens with an EIN and formation documents, charges no monthly fee, and keeps company money fully separate from the owner's. On this list, Rho, Chase, Bluevine, Relay, and Mercury each publish LLC onboarding requirements on their own sites.
What an LLC needs to open an account:
EIN: the IRS-issued tax ID for the company. Multi-member LLCs need one; if yours has gone missing, our EIN lookup guide walks through how to retrieve it.
Articles of organization: the state filing that created the LLC, sometimes called a certificate of formation.
Operating agreement: the document that names members and ownership percentages. Providers use it to identify anyone owning 25% or more.
Owner identification: a government photo ID and personal details for each beneficial owner and the person opening the account.
Single-member LLCs still need a separate account.
Mixing business and personal money is the fastest way to weaken the liability shield an LLC exists to provide. A dedicated account also makes bookkeeping, tax filing, and any future financing application far simpler. The basics are covered in our guide to what business banking is.
Which listed options support LLCs: Rho opens accounts for LLCs and asks multi-member LLCs to have the operating agreement on hand (rho.co, verified 09/16/2026). Chase, Bluevine, Relay, and Mercury each accept LLCs per their published application requirements. If your LLC is a venture-backed startup, our best banks for startups guide narrows the field further.
Who actually holds your money (and why it matters)
Most of the "banks" on this list aren't banks. Rho, Mercury, Brex, Relay, Novo, Found, Airwallex, and Lili are financial technology companies; a chartered partner bank holds the deposits and provides FDIC insurance. This model is standard and safe when it's disclosed clearly, but the partner banks differ enormously in size, and most buyers never check.
Rho's checking and card services are provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Member FDIC: a nationally chartered bank founded in 1935, part of Santander's $327 billion-asset U.S. banking organization (per Santander, at close 8/20/2026).
That is roughly ten times the size of the next-largest deposit partner bank behind any major business-banking fintech: Mercury's deposits sit at Choice Financial Group ($6.13B) and Column, N.A. ($1.39B); Bluevine's at Coastal Community Bank ($5.66B); Brex's at Column ($1.39B); Relay's at Thread Bank ($1.04B); Novo's at Middlesex Federal Savings ($642M); all FDIC call reports, 3/31/2026.
None of this makes any competitor unsafe; it means you should know the name and the number, and most buyers never look.
How FDIC coverage above $250,000 works. Standard FDIC insurance is $250,000 per depositor, per bank, per ownership category: that's the full ceiling at a single direct bank, and for fintechs with one partner bank (Novo, Found, Airwallex).
Sweep networks extend it: your balance is distributed across many banks, each contributing its own $250,000 of coverage.
Rho's Business Savings spreads cash across a network of 400+ FDIC- and NCUA-insured institutions for up to $75 million in FDIC coverage, the highest on this list, alongside checking insured to $250,000 at Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A.. Mercury runs the same play to $5M (up to ~20 banks); Bluevine, Relay, and Lili to $3M.
And read the fine print on treasury products everywhere, including at Rho: T-bill and money-market investments (Rho Treasury, Mercury Treasury, Brex's MMF, Airwallex Yield) are SIPC-protected securities, not FDIC-insured deposits. The honest comparison is deposits-to-deposits and securities-to-securities; any provider quoting one number for both is blurring it.
If your board wants deposits at two banks, that instinct is right, and worth doing precisely. Since 2023, many companies split funds on principle.
A savings sweep network is itself structural diversification: one platform login, with the money spread across hundreds of insured institutions. Many Rho clients run exactly the setup this article recommends for cash-heavy businesses: Rho as the primary operating layer (payroll, revenue, AP), with a branch bank alongside for cash handling.

Never outgrow your banking platform.
Built to handle your business at every stage, from inception to IPO. No switching costs, no starting over – just banking that expands with you.
Rho is a fintech company, not a bank. Checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., member FDIC; savings account services provided by American Deposit Management Co. and its partner banks.
Numbers only tell part of the story. Here's what each provider actually gets right, and where it falls apart.
The 11 accounts, reviewed
1. Rho: best all-in-one platform from day zero through IPO
Best for: startups and growing businesses that want checking, corporate cards, AP, expense management, and treasury in one platform, from incorporation to the public markets.
Rho is a New York-based fintech platform (founded 2018); checking and card services are provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Member FDIC.
The pricing model is the simplest on this list: $0 monthly fee, $0 per-user fees, and no paid software tiers: AP automation, expense management, and accounting automation are included on every account. Same-day ACH, wires, and checks are $0; the only standard payment fee is a 1% foreign-currency conversion fee.
The lifecycle pitch is real and specific:
Day zero: Rho is the only provider on this list that can actually file your company. Free Delaware C-corp incorporation*: every formation document reviewed by a licensed attorney and filed on your behalf (a ~5-minute flow; ~80% of filings complete within 24 hours; registered-agent fee included for the first year), with banking that opens the same day, pre-EIN. Incorporating elsewhere? Rho supports pre-EIN onboarding through Stripe Atlas and Clerky too. *$400 fee, credited back once you deposit $10,000 of new money into your Rho checking account and keep your daily average balance $10,000 above where it started for the 60 days after you incorporate. Requires at least one US-based owner or officer and a physical US operating address.
Working capital: Rho Treasury invests in U.S. Treasury Bills and money market funds with yields up to 4.72% as of 09/17/2026 (variable; tiered from 4.27% at the minimum to 4.72% at $20M+), the highest treasury rate on this list, reachable at a $50,000 minimum, one-fifth of Mercury's $250,000. Note the honest fine print that applies to every treasury product in this article: these are SIPC-protected securities, not FDIC-insured deposits.
Safety: checking is FDIC-insured to $250K at Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A.; Rho Business Savings extends coverage up to $75 million via a sweep across 400+ FDIC- and NCUA-insured institutions, the highest FDIC ceiling on this list.
Scale: corporate cards paying up to 2% Cashback for Rho Platinum members on the Rho Card with Daily Terms (capped at $1M in eligible annual spend, terms apply); standard cards earn up to 1.25%*: with no personal guarantee on cards (currently, per Rho's own wording, no personal credit pull either); vendor cards; reimbursements without per-user caps; integrations with QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics 365, and Xero.
Working capital when you need it: Rho Capital is a revolving working-capital line for businesses that pay for growth before they get paid: inventory buys, supplier payments, payroll bridges, growth spend. Terms up to 180 days, no origination or prepayment fees, funding in as little as ~48 hours, and applying doesn't trigger a hard personal credit pull. It's underwritten on your cash flow (rates based on your cash flow, no warrants, no dilution), built for the lumpy-revenue, thin-file businesses banks under-serve, and it's a true revolving line, not a merchant cash advance.
*2% Cashback on the Rho Card with Daily Terms for Rho Platinum members, capped at $1M in eligible annual spend (about $20K max Cashback per year); standard Daily Terms rate 1.25%. Monthly Terms: 1.75% (Platinum) / 1% (standard). Requires paying the full statement balance on time. Rho Platinum qualification: payroll run from Rho, business revenue deposited via Rho Checking, 50%+ of company assets at Rho, and an open Rho Corporate Card.
Support is a real human by phone, chat, or SMS on every account, with no paywalled support tier. Mercury advertises no phone channel at any tier, and its dedicated relationship manager starts at $299/month.
Where Rho wins: total cost at scale ($0 monthly, per-user, and software fees), the highest treasury rate and the highest FDIC savings ceiling on this list, the partner-bank profile (a $327B Santander organization, per Santander, 8/20/2026, many times anyone else's), no-PG cards, a first-party revolving working-capital line, and human support on every account.
Rho isn't the right fit for everything: no cash deposits and no branches: if you take physical cash, pair Rho with a branch bank (that's the honest answer, and it's the same answer for Mercury and Brex).
International payments carry a 1% foreign-currency conversion fee on USD accounts; businesses that need to hold multi-currency balances natively will find Airwallex stronger there. And for the broadest lending menus (SBA loans, commercial real estate, equipment financing) the branch banks still have the deeper bench.
2. Mercury: best product polish for VC-backed startups
Mercury built its reputation with much of the venture ecosystem as the default first account, and the product earns it: a genuinely polished free tier (no monthly fees, free domestic and USD international wires), built-in invoicing and bill pay, and banking you can open at incorporation.
Deposits are held through Choice Financial Group ($6.13B in assets) and Column, N.A. ($1.39B), both FDIC call reports, 3/31/2026, with up to $5M in FDIC coverage via a sweep across up to ~20 program banks.
The IO credit card pays a flat 1.5% cashback with no personal guarantee, and Mercury offers venture debt and working capital loans (not available in California). Software plans run $0, and from $29.90/month (Plus) and $299/month (Pro); annual billing is lower.
Where Mercury wins: the free tier's wire economics (free domestic and USD international wires is genuinely rare), product breadth and UX on $0/month, no-PG cards, venture debt for VC-backed companies, and up to $5M FDIC, a higher sweep ceiling than Bluevine or Relay.
The catch with Mercury: your operating cash earns nothing: Mercury pays no interest on business checking or savings at any tier, and Mercury Treasury requires a $250,000 minimum for yields up to 3.81% net (as of 07/27/2026, tiered, and SIPC-protected securities, not FDIC).
Mercury advertises no phone support at any tier; a dedicated relationship manager requires the $299/month Pro plan. There are no cash deposits ("We don't currently support cash deposits," per Mercury's own FAQ).
A seed company holding $150K at Mercury earns $0 on it; the same balance in an interest-bearing alternative earns thousands a year.
3. Bluevine: best interest checking plus built-in lending
Bluevine is the strongest answer on this list for a small business that wants its checking balance itself to earn interest and wants credit from the same provider.
Standard checking is $0/month and pays 1.3% APY on balances up to $250K if you spend $500/month on the Bluevine debit card or receive $2,500/month in customer payments (verified 08/02/2026); Plus ($30/month, waivable) lifts it to 1.75% with no activity requirement, and Premier ($95/month, waivable) pays 3.0% on all balances with no cap.
The line of credit up to $250K (issued by Celtic Bank) is integrated directly with checking, lending most of the small-business neobanks on this list don't offer at all. Cash deposits work through Green Dot's 90,000+ retail locations ($4.95 per deposit) and Allpoint+ ATMs ($1 + 0.5%).
Deposits carry up to $3M in FDIC coverage through Coastal Community Bank ($5.66B in assets, FDIC call report 3/31/2026) and program banks.
Where Bluevine wins: interest on checking at every tier, including 3.0% APY uncapped on Premier, the best deposit rate on this list; an integrated credit line; cash-deposit access without a branch bank; and phone support (Premier clients get priority routing).
Bluevine's fine print matters here: the headline rates have conditions: Standard's 1.3% requires monthly activity and stops at $250K, and the 3.0% rate costs $95/month unless you hold $100K and spend $5K/month on cards.
Paid plans are how the economics work at scale, where Rho and Mercury charge $0. The line of credit publishes no starting rate ("rates vary based on creditworthiness"), and the cashback Mastercard is currently invitation-only.
Bluevine's platform is built for Main Street operations more than for venture-scale finance stacks: there's no native accounts payable (AP) automation suite, accounting software integrations, or multi-entity treasury of the kind scaling companies grow into.
4. Relay: best self-serve multi-entity banking
Relay's pitch is organizational: up to 20 checking accounts per business (50 on the top plan), two savings accounts, unlimited users, and multiple businesses under one login: self-serve, on a free plan.
It's the official banking platform of the Profit First method, with percent-based automatic transfers between accounts. Pricing changed recently: the old Free/Pro model is now Starter ($0), Grow ($30/month), and Scale ($90/month).
Savings APY is plan-gated: 1.11% on Starter, 1.75% on Grow, 3.00% on Scale (Relay's figures, accurate as of 5/1/2026), and applies to savings accounts only, not operating balances. Deposits carry up to $3M in FDIC coverage via Thread Bank's ($1.04B, FDIC call report 3/31/2026) sweep program.
Cash deposits are free at Allpoint+ ATMs (up to $1,000 per transaction) or via Green Dot retail (up to $4.95). The Relay Visa credit card requires no credit check: it's a 30-day charge card with limits tied to your Relay balances.
Where Relay wins: multi-entity and multi-account structure nobody else on this list offers self-serve, genuinely free entry (unlimited users, up to 50 cards), Profit First automation, cash-deposit access, and incoming wires free on every plan.
Relay's limits show up at the edges: outgoing wires cost money on every plan (around $8 domestic on Starter, per Relay's own comparison pages), the best APY and 1.5% cashback are gated behind the $90/month Scale plan, interest applies only to savings (max two accounts), and
The credit card is effectively cash-secured: there's no underwritten credit line or venture debt. For a holding company running five LLCs, Relay is likely the right answer; for a venture-backed company centralizing treasury, AP, and cards at scale, it runs out of road.
5. Novo: simplest free checking for micro-businesses
Novo is a genuinely free, genuinely simple checking account for freelancers and very small businesses: $0 monthly fee, no minimums, built-in invoicing with payment acceptance, 40+ integrations (Stripe, Shopify, Square, QuickBooks), up to $7/month in ATM fee refunds, and up to 20 "Reserves" budgeting buckets inside the account.
Deposits are held at Middlesex Federal Savings, F.A. ($642M in assets, FDIC call report 3/31/2026) with standard $250K FDIC coverage: a single partner bank, no sweep program. A Novo credit card (issued by Continental Bank) pays up to 2% cashback with a $5,000+ Novo balance.
Where Novo wins: zero-fee simplicity, free built-in invoicing, and ATM refunds: for a sole proprietor sending a dozen invoices a month, it does the whole job for free.
Novo's simplicity has a ceiling: nothing earns interest: Novo's checking is non-interest-bearing and there is no savings product at all.
There are no cash deposits (the workaround is buying a money order), outgoing domestic wires are limited to selected eligible clients at up to $30, and the $250K coverage ceiling through a single $642M bank is the lowest safety profile on this list. Novo is built for businesses measured in thousands of dollars, not millions.
6. Chase: best for cash deposits and branch access
Chase Business Complete Banking earns its default status with millions of small businesses the old-fashioned way: the physical network. The largest branch network in the country, unlimited free cash deposits at ATMs, and $5,000 per statement period of free teller cash deposits (0.30% on the excess): no fintech on this list can touch any of that.
The mobile app is genuinely excellent (J.D. Power's #1 among national banks in 2026), and the Ink card lineup is best-in-class for small-business rewards credit (5% categories on Ink Cash, 1.5% flat on Ink Unlimited, no annual fee options).
The costs are equally concrete (all from Chase's 2026 Deposit Account Agreement, verified 08/02/2026):
$15/month unless you re-qualify for a waiver every statement period ($2,000 minimum daily balance every business day, or routing deposits through Chase's own payment processing).
Business checking earns 0%: the fee schedule states flagship accounts "do not earn interest," and business savings pays roughly 0.01% APY. A company parking $2M at Chase earns about $200 a year; the same balance at a 4%+ treasury rate earns $80,000+.
Money movement is metered: $25 outgoing domestic wires online ($40 international USD), $15 incoming wires, and same-day ACH at 1% of the amount (up to $25 per transaction). Online ACH service runs $2.50/month plus $0.15 per item above ten.
Every Chase Ink card requires a personal guarantee: the cardmember agreement makes the applicant "personally responsible, both individually and jointly with the Company." And as of March 27, 2026, Ink cash-back can no longer be transferred to an external bank account.
Where Chase wins: cash-heavy businesses, branch service, the strongest small-business credit-card rewards lineup, merchant acquiring under the same roof, and the stability instinct: JPMorgan Chase & Co. holds $5.0 trillion in assets (Q2 2026 results, 6/30/2026). Many companies on fintech platforms rightly keep a Chase account alongside for exactly these jobs.
Chase asks for real tradeoffs in exchange for that branch network: zero yield on operating cash, fee-metered payments, a personal guarantee on every business card, no integrated AP/spend software at the SMB tier (their answer is a white-labeled Bill.com sold through commercial banking), and no API access for Business Complete accounts.
7. Bank of America: relationship banking at scale
Bank of America's Business Advantage Fundamentals costs $16/month, waived with a $5,000 combined balance, $500/month in debit spend, or Preferred Rewards for Business membership; the Relationship tier is $29.95/month (waived at $15,000).
The draw is the relationship machine: ~3,500 financial centers and ~15,000 ATMs (BofA's own Q2 2026 figures), a self-described #1 small-business lender position, and Preferred Rewards for Business: hold $20K/$50K/$100K across BofA and Merrill accounts and fees get waived automatically while credit-card rewards get boosted 25% to 75%.
Cash deposits: the first $5,000 per statement cycle free ($20,000 on Relationship), then $0.30 per $100.
The yield story matches Chase's: business checking is non-interest-bearing (per BofA's own February 2026 fee schedule), and Business Advantage Savings pays a standard 0.01% APY (rates vary by location); the Platinum Honors "20% rate booster" takes that to roughly 0.012%.
Wires are metered ($30 domestic out, $45 international USD out, $15 incoming), excess transactions cost $0.45 beyond 20 per cycle on Fundamentals, and business credit cards involve a personal credit review with a personal guarantee per the application terms.
Where BofA wins: cash handling and branch access at national scale, the Preferred Rewards escalator for businesses that also invest through Merrill, and one of the broadest small-business lending benches in the country, all inside a direct FDIC-member bank with $3.50 trillion in assets (Q2 2026 results).
The cost of BofA's relationship banking: operating cash earns effectively nothing, the fee schedule meters everything from wires to your 21st transaction, the best perks require six figures parked across the relationship, and there's no integrated AP/spend/treasury software: the modern finance-stack layer simply isn't the product.
8. Brex: best points program for enterprise spend management (now part of Capital One)
Brex was acquired by Capital One in a transaction completed April 7, 2026 (~$5.15B including debt payoff, per secondary sources); it operates as an independent brand, with checking still provided by Column, N.A. and treasury via a BNY Dreyfus money market fund. Pricing is $0 (Essentials) or $12 per user per month (Premium), verified on brex.com 08/02/2026.
The yield story needs reading carefully: Brex's displayed treasury rate was 4.01% base, tiered up to 4.36% at $20M+ (effective 07/31/2026), but that yield comes from a money market fund protected by SIPC (up to $500K), not FDIC insurance. FDIC coverage requires moving money to the separate Vault sweep product (~$6M coverage).
Rewards accrue as points only, and redeem for cash at 0.6 cents per point, a 40% haircut versus their travel redemption value. Credit limits are cash-balance-driven and, per Brex's own help center, "subject to change at any time at our sole discretion."
Where Brex wins: enterprise-grade spend management and procurement tooling, a genuinely strong developer API surface (10 documented REST APIs), industry-verticalized rewards multipliers, and global card issuance, plus whatever balance-sheet reassurance Capital One ownership adds.
Read Brex's fine print before you bank on the points: cash rewards take a 40% redemption haircut; the headline yield is a securities product, not insured deposits;
Credit limits are procyclical (they track your balance and can drop when it does); no cash deposits, checkbooks, or ATM access; USD-only balances with up to 3% FX markup on cross-currency card spend; and the Capital One integration is live now, worth watching how underwriting and rewards evolve over the next year.
9. Airwallex: best for global multi-currency operations
Airwallex is the pick when the job is genuinely global: local account details in 20+ currencies, receiving like a local business from 70+ countries, FX at interbank + 0.5% for major currencies (+1.0% for others),
Free transfers over local rails to 120+ countries (SWIFT runs $15 to $25), and multi-currency Visa corporate cards with no FX fees and up to 2% cashback on local USD spend: no personal guarantee and no credit check, because they're debit-style cards spending your own balance.
The Explore plan is $0/month with no balance conditions (up to 10 free users); Grow runs $12 per active Spend user/month. Airwallex Yield, launched in the US in March 2026, pays up to 3.48% (as of 08/01/2026) via a JPMorgan government money market fund, SIPC-protected, not FDIC-insured.
Structurally, Airwallex US is a licensed money transmitter, not a bank: client funds sit in segregated accounts at Evolve Bank & Trust ($1.21B in assets) for pass-through FDIC eligibility of $250,000, with cards issued by Community Federal Savings Bank ($849M); both FDIC call reports, 3/31/2026. There's no sweep program, no cash or check deposits, and no credit products for US SMBs.
Where Airwallex wins: anything cross-border: a US company billing in EUR, paying contractors in PHP, and holding GBP has no better option on this list, at FX rates the branch banks don't approach.
Airwallex trades safety margin for reach: as a primary US operating account, the safety architecture is the thinnest here: $250K pass-through coverage via a $1.2B partner bank, versus the multimillion-dollar sweep ceilings elsewhere on this list.
No cash deposits, no credit line, and the yield product is a securities account. Most US-centric businesses will pair Airwallex with a domestic operating account rather than replace one.
10. Found: best free back office for sole proprietors
Found bundles banking with the self-employed back office: the free plan includes bookkeeping, real-time tax estimates, automatic tax-saving into a dedicated pocket, unlimited invoicing, and free contractor payments with 1099-NEC e-filing: a genuinely complete toolkit for a solo service business at $0/month.
Found Plus ($35/month) adds 1.50% APY on balances up to $20,000 and in-app quarterly federal tax payments (Schedule C filers only); Found Pro ($80/month) pays 2.50% APY uncapped plus 1% cash back.
Banking services are provided by Lead Bank ($2.68B in assets, FDIC call report 3/31/2026) (Found switched from Piermont Bank in October 2025) with standard $250K FDIC coverage and no sweep program. Cash deposits work via a barcode at retail locations with a $2.00 Found fee. Found now supports multi-member LLCs, corporations, and partnerships, though the tax automation centers on Schedule C filers.
Where Found wins: the deepest free tax automation in this segment (taxes set aside on every deposit, deduction tracking, Schedule C and 1120/1120-S generation), plus free contractor payments, 750,000+ clients, and strong app ratings.
Found's limits show up once you're not a solo operator anymore: yield requires a subscription: free users earn 0%, and Plus's 1.50% capped at $20K earns at most ~$300/year against a $420/year plan cost.
FDIC coverage stops at the standard $250K. There are no international wires (domestic outgoing cost $15, $10 on Pro), cash deposits are fee'd and tightly capped, and a business that outgrows Schedule C outgrows most of what makes Found special.
11. Lili: best free-plan APY for very small businesses
Lili pairs simple banking with tax-prep tooling and, unusually for this segment, pays APY on its free plan: savings earn a tiered rate of 2.25% on the first $500,000 (the advertised "up to 4.00%" applies only to the portion between $500K and $1M; nothing above $1M), effective January 13, 2026, on every plan including the $0 Core tier.
Plans run $0 / $15 / $35 / $55 per month, with the bookkeeping, invoicing, and "Tax Bucket" auto-savings features gated to paid tiers. Deposits are held at Sunrise Banks, N.A. ($2.73B in assets, FDIC call report 3/31/2026) with coverage up to $3M via sweep program banks.
Cash deposits work through Green Dot's ~90,000 retail locations (fees up to $4.95 per deposit), teams up to 10 users are supported, and entity coverage is broad, including non-profits.
Where Lili wins: free-plan yield (2.25% on real balances beats Found's 0% and Novo's nothing), a $3M FDIC ceiling unusual at this end of the market, international wires for legal entities, and the broadest entity support in the micro-business set.
Read past the headline rate at Lili: the "up to 4.00%" headline is technically true but practically unreachable: nearly every small business earns 2.25%. The useful bookkeeping and tax features cost $15 to $55/month, wire fees exist but aren't published ("fees apply"), international wires exclude sole proprietors, and Lili is explicit that it isn't a tax preparer: the tooling organizes, it doesn't file.
Beyond APY and FDIC coverage, fees are where an account quietly costs you money. Here's what to watch for.
Best Chase business checking alternatives
Chase Business Complete Banking charges a $15 monthly fee unless you meet a waiver, and Chase's fee schedule states its business checking does not earn interest. Chase's advantage is real: the largest branch network of any bank on this list and free ATM cash deposits no fintech matches. If you do not need branches or cash deposits, these five accounts from the list above are the strongest alternatives, each for one verified reason:
Provider | Monthly fee | Time to open | Why it beats Chase here |
|---|---|---|---|
Rho | $0 | Under 10 minutes online | $0 monthly and per-user fees, plus checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Member FDIC (rho.co, 09/16/2026). |
Mercury | $0 (software plans optional) | 10 minutes or less | Free domestic and USD international wires on the $0 plan (mercury.com, 09/16/2026). |
Bluevine | $0 Standard / $30 Plus / $95 Premier | A few minutes | Interest on the checking balance itself: 1.3% APY on Standard with activity requirements, 1.75% on Plus, 3.0% on Premier (bluevine.com, 09/16/2026). |
Relay | $0 Starter | About 10 minutes online | 20 checking accounts per business on the free Starter plan, for envelope-style budgeting (relayfi.com, 09/16/2026). |
Novo | $0 | Opens in minutes (24 to 72 hour review) | Simplest fee-free account for micro-businesses, with no minimum balance and no per-user fees (novo.co, 09/16/2026). |
Keep Chase alongside any of these if your business handles physical cash. For online-first options only, see our best online business bank accounts guide. Every fee and time-to-open figure in the table above comes from the full comparison table earlier on this page, verified September 16, 2026.
Common bank fees to watch out for
Managing your business finances effectively means understanding and minimizing unnecessary banking costs. Here are the most common fees that can impact your bottom line:
Monthly maintenance fees
These regular charges ($10-$50 monthly) can be waived by maintaining minimum balances or meeting other requirements. Calculate whether maintaining the required balance makes financial sense versus paying the fee.
Transaction fees
After exceeding free transaction limits, banks typically charge $0.30-$0.50 per additional transaction. High-volume businesses should prioritize accounts with generous transaction allowances or reasonable per-transaction costs.
Wire transfer fees
Domestic wire transfers typically cost $15-$35, while international transfers can range from $35-$50. Some online banks now offer free domestic wires, which can create substantial savings for businesses regularly transferring large sums.
ACH transfer fees
Though generally cheaper than wires ($0-$10), ACH transfer costs can accumulate for businesses making frequent transfers. Some banks offer free ACH transfers, which is particularly valuable for companies using direct deposit for payroll.
Overdraft fees
These punitive charges ($25-$40 per occurrence) can cascade if multiple transactions hit an overdrawn account. Look for banks offering overdraft protection, fee-free overdrafts, or those that simply decline transactions without charging fees.
Cash deposit fees
Some banks charge for cash deposits exceeding certain monthly limits (often after $5,000-$10,000). Retail businesses should prioritize accounts with generous free cash deposit allowances.
ATM fees
Out-of-network ATM usage typically incurs both a fee from your bank ($2-$3) and the ATM operator ($2-$5). Some business accounts refund these fees, creating significant savings for businesses operating in areas without convenient in-network ATMs.
Early account closure fees
Many banks charge $25-$50 if you close your account within 90-180 days of opening. Be certain about your choice before committing, or confirm whether your bank charges this fee.
How to separate personal and business finances
Maintaining separate personal and business finances is essential for tax compliance, legal protection, and accurate financial reporting.
Here's how to establish proper separation:
1. Establish a proper business structure
Before opening accounts, form the appropriate legal entity (LLC, S-Corp, etc.) and obtain your Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the IRS. This establishes your business as a separate legal entity.
2. Open dedicated business accounts
Never use personal bank accounts for business transactions. Even sole proprietors should maintain separate small business checking accounts for business activities to simplify accounting and tax preparation.
3. Use business credit cards
Apply for business credit cards rather than using personal cards for business expenses. This builds business credit while creating a clear separation of expenses and tracking card purchases.
4. Pay yourself properly
Instead of taking money from the business account as needed, establish regular "payroll" for yourself through transfers from your business to your personal account.
5. Track business expenses meticulously
Use accounting software that integrates with your business bank account to automatically categorize and track expenses.
6. Consider separate savings strategies
While personal finances might focus on retirement and emergency funds, business savings strategies should prioritize tax obligations, capital expenditures, and growth opportunities.
7. Work with specialized professionals
Find accountants and financial advisors who specialize in small business finances rather than personal financial planning.
Bank offers and promotions: Getting value when opening an account
Many financial institutions offer special promotions to attract new business customers. These offers can provide significant value if they're aligned with your banking needs:
Common bank offers
Cash bonuses: Many banks offer $300-$1,000 for opening new accounts and meeting certain requirements
Fee waivers: Extended periods (3-12 months) without monthly service fees
Free transactions: Increased transaction limits for initial periods
Discounted services: Reduced rates on merchant services, payroll processing, or wire transfers
Software integration perks: Free subscriptions to accounting or financial management tools
Business tool discounts: Special offers for business software through bank partnerships
How to evaluate promotional offers
Calculate the real value: A $500 bonus may seem attractive, but not if you'll pay $300 in fees during the qualification period or if it'll incentivize you to spend more than you would have otherwise
Understand requirements: Most offers require maintaining minimum balances, completing specific transaction volumes, or using particular services
Consider the long-term fit: Choose a bank that meets your ongoing needs, not just one offering an enticing short-term promotion; consider your growth as well and whether the banks features will fit your scaling business in the future
Watch for clawback provisions: Some offers require maintaining the account for 6-12 months to avoid bonus recapture
Be on the lookout. The most valuable promotions align with banking services you already need rather than incentivizing behavior that doesn't match your business operations.
One last thing, since every number above matters: here's exactly how we checked it.
How we verified this page
Every rate, fee, and coverage figure on this page was pulled from the provider's own published pricing pages, fee schedules, and legal disclosures on August 2, 2026, with secondary sources (FDIC BankFind, SEC filings) for partner-bank assets.
APYs are variable and change without notice; where a provider displays an effective date, we cite theirs. Where a figure could not be verified from a primary source, we say so rather than guessing.
Sources: rho.co pricing, treasury, savings, and FAQ pages (08/02/2026) · chase.com Deposit Account Agreement (© 2026) and pay-and-transfer pages (08/02/2026) · Bank of America Business Schedule of Fees (effective 2/20/2026) and Q2 2026 results (7/14/2026) · mercury.com pricing, treasury, credit, and FAQ pages (08/02/2026) · bluevine.com business-checking, plus, premier, cash-networks, and line-of-credit pages (08/02/2026) · relayfi.com pricing and FAQs (08/02/2026) · novo.co business-checking and footer disclosures (08/02/2026) · brex.com pricing, support, and credit-card pages (08/02/2026) · airwallex.com US pricing, yield, global-accounts, and terms pages (08/02/2026) · found.com pricing and fee schedule (archived 7/08/2026; fee schedule dated 5/04/2026) · lili.co plans, savings rate table (effective 1/13/2026), and FAQ (08/02/2026) · FDIC BankFind call reports as of 3/31/2026 (Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. cert 18221; Choice 9423; Column 58224; Coastal 34403; Thread 9499; Middlesex 28368; Lead 8283; Sunrise 18561; Evolve 1299; CFSB 57129) · JPMorgan Chase Q2 2026 results (7/14/2026) · Capital One newsroom (Brex acquisition completion, 4/7/2026).
FAQs
The best business bank account for most growing companies in 2026 is Rho, a fintech platform with $0 monthly fees, an application that takes less than 10 minutes, and checking and card services provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. Chase suits cash-heavy businesses, Bluevine pays interest on checking, and Relay fits multi-entity budgeting.
A business checking account is the operating account a company pays and gets paid from. The best ones in 2026 charge no monthly fee, hold deposits at an FDIC-insured bank, and open online in minutes. Rho, Mercury, Relay, and Novo offer $0-monthly-fee checking; Bluevine adds interest on checking, and Chase adds branches and cash deposits.
Rho, Mercury, Relay Starter, Bluevine Standard, and Novo all charge $0 monthly for business checking, verified on each provider's website in September 2026. Rho also charges $0 for ACH, domestic wires, and per-user seats. Chase Business Complete Banking waives its $15 fee only when you meet a monthly requirement such as a $2,000 minimum daily balance.
The best business bank account for an LLC opens with an EIN, articles of organization, and an operating agreement, charges no monthly fee, and keeps company funds separate from the owner's. Rho, Chase, Bluevine, Relay, and Mercury each publish LLC application requirements. Single-member LLCs still need a dedicated account to protect the liability shield and simplify taxes.
For businesses that do not need branches or cash deposits, the strongest Chase Business Complete Banking alternatives are Rho ($0 monthly fees, application under 10 minutes), Mercury (free domestic and USD international wires), Bluevine (interest on checking from 1.3% to 3.0% APY by plan), and Relay (20 checking accounts on its free plan). Each was verified in September 2026.
The fintechs themselves aren't banks: deposits are held at chartered partner banks, where FDIC insurance applies. What differs is the partner bank and the coverage structure: Rho's checking and card services are provided by Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. (part of Santander's $327B-asset U.S. banking organization, per Santander, 8/20/2026), and Rho savings extends coverage up to $75M through a 400+ bank sweep network. Always check which bank holds your money; the provider's own disclosures name it, and note that treasury products (Rho Treasury, Mercury Treasury, Brex's money market fund, Airwallex Yield) carry SIPC protection rather than FDIC insurance.
Standard coverage is $250,000 per depositor, per bank, per ownership category: that's the ceiling at a single direct bank like Chase or Bank of America, and at single-partner-bank fintechs like Novo, Found, and Airwallex. Sweep networks multiply it by spreading deposits across many banks: on this list, up to $75 million on Rho savings, up to $6M on Brex Vault, up to $5M at Mercury, and up to $3M at Bluevine, Relay, and Lili.
The big branch banks effectively don't: Chase's flagship business checking "does not earn interest" per its own 2026 fee schedule, and Bank of America's is non-interest-bearing. Among fintechs, Bluevine pays interest on checking directly (1.3% to 3.0% APY depending on plan, verified 08/02/2026) and Lili and Relay pay on savings. Mercury pays nothing on business deposits; its treasury product requires a $250,000 minimum. Rho routes yield through Rho Treasury (up to 4.55% as of 08/02/2026, from a $50K minimum), and remember treasury products everywhere are securities, not FDIC-insured deposits.
Usually not directly. Chase and Bank of America accept cash at branches and ATMs. Among fintechs on this list, Bluevine, Relay, Found, and Lili accept cash through retail and ATM networks (Green Dot, Allpoint+), typically with per-deposit fees of $2 to $5; Rho, Mercury, Brex, Novo, and Airwallex do not accept cash deposits. If cash revenue is core to your business, pair a fintech platform with a branch bank.
At traditional banks, almost always: every Chase Ink card requires one (the cardmember agreement makes you "personally responsible, both individually and jointly with the Company"), and Bank of America reviews personal credit per its application terms. Corporate card programs from Rho, Mercury (IO), and Brex underwrite the business itself with no personal guarantee, each per the provider's current published terms.
Among the fintechs on this list: Rho offers Rho Capital, a revolving working-capital line with terms up to 180 days, no origination or prepayment fees, and funding in as little as ~48 hours; Bluevine offers a line of credit up to $250K (issued by Celtic Bank); Mercury offers venture debt and working capital loans (not available in California). Relay, Novo, Brex, Airwallex, Found, and Lili offer cards but no credit line. The branch banks, Chase and Bank of America, have the broadest lending menus overall (term loans, SBA, commercial real estate), at branch-bank pace.
A partner bank is the chartered, FDIC-member institution that actually holds deposits for a fintech platform. It matters for two reasons: that bank's stability is your counterparty risk, and its disclosures govern your insurance. Partner banks on this list range from Webster Bank, a division of Santander Bank, N.A. (Rho's checking partner, part of Santander's $327B-asset U.S. banking organization, per Santander 8/20/2026) to community banks under $1B. The comparison table names each with assets, so you can judge for yourself.
Four things, in order: (1) what idle cash earns, and at what minimum: a quarter-million-dollar gate means nothing to a seed-stage company; (2) FDIC coverage that scales past $250K as you raise; (3) total cost at scale: per-user fees and software tiers are how free accounts get expensive; (4) whether the platform grows with you: multi-entity support, accounting software integrations, and human support you don't pay extra for. Bonus: an account you can open at incorporation, before you have an EIN, or a provider that handles the incorporation itself (on this list, only Rho does, with free Delaware C-corp incorporation: a $400 fee, credited back once you deposit $10,000 of new money into your Rho checking account and keep your daily average balance $10,000 above where it started for the 60 days after you incorporate).
Rho, a fintech platform, natively syncs corporate card, banking, and bill-pay transactions into QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, and Sage Intacct, and connects to Xero by bank feed. Coverage varies by provider: some push categorized data directly into the ledger, while others only pass raw transaction lines for manual coding. Confirm the sync type before choosing a platform.
